Commuting into Santa Clara & San Mateo Counties

Data Source:

United States Census Bureau, American Community Survey


Silicon Valley Institute for Regional Studies

Data are from the United States Census Bureau, American Community Survey 1-Year Estimates, Public Use Microdata (PUMS). Silicon Valley data include commuters who work in San Mateo or Santa Clara Counties. The Bay Area includes workers in Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, Napa, San Francisco, San Mateo, Santa Clara, Solano, and Sonoma Counties. Megacommuters include workers ages 16 or older with one way commutes of more than 90 minutes; analysis excludes those working from home. California megacommuters are based on place of residence, and thus may include those who are commuting out of state. 2020 data are from the 2020 1-Year Public Use Microdata (PUMS) with experimental weights.

*2020 estimate from 1-year American Community Survey microdata with experimental weights.

Resources for Relevant Data and Reports (show)

Related Indicators: