Residential Density

Average Units per Acre of Newly Approved Residential Development

Silicon Valley

Data Source:

City Planning and Housing Departments of Silicon Valley


Silicon Valley Institute for Regional Studies

Data are from Joint Venture Silicon Valley’s annual land-use survey of all cities within Silicon Valley. The 35 cities/counties included in the FY 2018-19 Residential Density analysis are Belmont, Brisbane, Burlingame, Campbell, Colma, Cupertino, Daly City, East Palo Alto, Foster City, Fremont, Gilroy, Half Moon Bay, Los Altos Hills, Los Gatos, Menlo Park, Millbrae, Milpitas, Morgan Hill, Mountain View, Newark, Pacifica, Palo Alto, Redwood City, San Bruno, San Carlos, San Jose, San Mateo, County of San Mateo, Santa Clara, County of Santa Clara, Saratoga, South San Francisco, Sunnyvale, Union City, and Woodside. Most recent data are for fiscal year 2019 (July 2018-June 2019). Residential density was calculated as the average residential density of the participating cities. Beginning in 2014, the residential density analysis began to exclude secondary units that were approved with the primary unit.

Beginning in 2008, the Land Use Survey expanded its geographic definition of Silicon Valley to include cities northward along the U.S. 101 corridor (Brisbane, Burlingame, Millbrae, San Bruno and South San Francisco). In 2014, the Survey expanded to include all Silicon Valley cities (adding Colma, Daly City, Half Moon Bay and Pacifica).

Resources for Relevant Data and Reports (show)

Related Indicators: