Migration Flows

Domestic Outmigration Destinations

Santa Clara & San Mateo Counties | 2015-2019 Annual Average

Data Source:

United States Census Bureau


Silicon Valley Institute for Regional Studies

Domestic migration data are from the United States Census Bureau, County-to-County Migration Flows using data from the American Community Survey (ACS) 5-Year Estimates, 2015-2019; data are estimates for a one-year period, based on a five-year data collection period. Silicon Valley includes Santa Clara and San Mateo Counties, and migration between those two counties are not included. Domestic Outmigration is the gross outmigration (not net, which would subtract counterflow). The Monterey Bay Area includes Santa Cruz, San Benito, and Monterey Counties; the Sacramento Metro area includes Sacramento, Yolo, El Dorado, Placer, Sutter, Yuba, and Nevada Counties; San Joaquin Valley includes San Joaquin, Kern, Kings, Stanislaus, Merced, Fresno, Madera, and Tulare Counties; Rest of Southern California includes Imperial, Los Angeles, Orange, Riverside, San Bernardino, San Diego, Santa Barbara, San Luis Obispo, and Ventura counties; Seattle-Tacoma includes King, Snohomish, Pierce, Kitsap, Thurston, Skagit, Iland, and Mason Counties; the Greater Phoenix, AZ area includes La Paz, Yuma, Maricopa, Pima, Pinal, Gila, and Yavapai Counties; the Greater Portland, OR area includes Multnomah, Clackamas, Washington, Yamhill, and Columbia Counties; the Dallas-Fort Worth, Texas Metro includes Collin, Dallas, Ellis, Hunt, Kaufman, and Rockwall Counties; New York City includes Bronx, Kings, New York, Queens, and Richmond Counties; Las Vegas, NV includes Clark County; Greater Austin, Texas includes Bastrop, Caldwell, Hays, Travis, and Williamson Counties; Greater Boston, MA includes Norfolk, Plymouth, Suffolk, Essex, Middlesex, Rockingham, and Strafford Counties; Greater Chicago, IL includes Cook, DuPage, Kane, Kendall, Lake, McHenry, and Will Counties; the Salt Lake City, UT Metro Area includes Salt Lake and Tooele Counties; the Washington, D.C. Metro area includes the District of Columbia, Maryland (Calvert, Charles, Frederick, Montgomery, and Prince George’s Counties), Virginia (Alexandria, Arlington County, Clarke County, Culpeper County, Fairfax County, Fairfax, Falls Church, Fauquier County, Fredericksburg, Loudoun County, Manassas, Manassas Park, Prince William County, Rappahannock County, Spotsylvania County, Stafford County, and Warren County), and West Virginia (Jefferson County); Greater Denver, CO includes Denver, Arapahoe, Douglas, Elbert, Jefferson, Boulder, Broomfield, Weld, Adams, Park, Clear Creek, and Gilpin Counties.

This chart does not have any footnotes.

Resources for Relevant Data and Reports (show)

Related Indicators: