Residential Density

Average Units per Acre of Newly Approved Residential Development

Silicon Valley

Data Source:

City Planning and Housing Departments of Silicon Valley


Silicon Valley Institute for Regional Studies

Data are from Joint Venture Silicon Valley’s annual land-use survey of all cities within Silicon Valley. The 31 cities/counties included in the FY 2015-16 Residential Density analysis are Atherton, Belmont, Brisbane, Burlingame, Campbell, Colma, Cupertino, Daly City, East Palo Alto, Fremont, Gilroy, Hillsborough, Los Altos Hills, Los Gatos, Millbrae, Milpitas, Monte Sereno, Mountain View, Newark, Pacifica, Palo Alto, Portola Valley, Redwood City, San Bruno, San Jose, San Mateo, San Mateo County, Santa Clara, Santa Clara COunty, South San Francisco, and Sunnyvale. Most recent data are for fiscal year 2016 (July 2015-June 2016). Residential density was calculated as the average residential density of the participating cities. Beginning in 2014, the residential density analysis began to exclude secondary units that were approved with the primary unit.

Beginning in 2008, the Land Use Survey expanded its geographic definition of Silicon Valley to include cities northward along the U.S. 101 corridor (Brisbane, Burlingame, Millbrae, San Bruno and South San Francisco). In 2014, the Survey expanded to include all Silicon Valley cities (adding Colma, Daly City, Half Moon Bay and Pacifica).

Resources for Relevant Data and Reports (show)

Related Indicators: